Sailors young and old came together last night (Dec 29th) to celebrate the end of a great year of sailing activities at Baltimore Sailing Club’s annual Dinner Dance held in Casey’s Hotel.  

It was once again a sold out night with dinner, prizegiving and dancing late into the night. 

The Heir Island Sloop 2018 Overall Awards were presented with Frank & Helen Whelton taking third, Marie and Domhnall O’Halloran & Conor Clune – second and Declan Tiernan & Marty O’Driscoll securing first.

In the 1720 class the overall awards went to “Two to Tango” – Peter O”Flynn in third, second was “” Hegarty’s and first was Baltimore Sailing Club “Livewire”.

The Youth Sailor of the Year was awarded to Aidan O’Flynn.

The Commodores Trophy was presented to Sheila O’Sullivan.

The AGM was held at noon today (Dec 30th) in the Clubhouse.  Niall O’Neill, Commodore ran through the club’s very successful 2018 calendar which commenced with the IODAI Spring Training Camp in February, Laser Munsters in March, National 18’s Irish Nationals in June, July & August sailing courses, 1720 Nationals in September and RS 200/400 & Feva Southerns in late September.  These along with Taster Courses, Adult Try Sailing, Women on the Water, two teams competing in the Marconi Cup, Rambler Trophy and the amazing weather made 2018 a year to remember.

The Commodore thanked Mark Ginn, Treasurer and Tom Hegarty, Sailing Secretary for their dedication and commitment over the years they have served on the Committee.  Tom Bushe was elected as the new Treasurer and Rob O’Leary as the new Sailing Secretary.

Happy New Year to all members.